Scooter Ride to Walker County in Alabama

Walker County was created by the Alabama legislature on 1823 Dec. 26, and was named for U.S. Senator John Williams Walker. The county is located in the northwestern part of the state, and is bordered by Winston, Cullman, Blount, Jefferson, Tuscaloosa, Fayette, and Marion counties. It encompasses 803 square miles. Walker County is exceeded only by Jefferson County in the production of coal. The county is drained by the Black Warrior River and Mulberry and Sipsey Forks. The county seat is Jasper, named for William Jasper, a hero of the American Revolution. Other towns and communities include Carbon Hill, Corona, and Cordova. Fires at the courthouse occurred in 1865, 1877, 1886, and 1932.

Here is a picture of the Confederate Monument in Jasper.

This is for comments only, please.   If you have a question, email us.
Spammers are instantly banned.   A link of any type will trigger a spam violation.   All HTML is stripped out.
Sorry for this, but the spammers are relentless.


Notify me about new comments on this page.
Hide my email.

Are you a human?   Please answer this question:
What does 20 + 8 =

Back to Top