Scooter Ride to Dallas County in Alabama

Dallas County was created by the Alabama Territorial legislature on 1818 Feb. 9, from portions of the Creek cession of 1814 Aug. 9. It was named for Alexander J. Dallas of Pennsylvania, U.S. Treasury Secretary. Dallas County is located in the Black Belt region of the west-central portion of the state, and is traversed by the Alabama River. Dallas is bordered by Perry, Chilton, Autauga, Lowndes, Wilcox, and Marengo counties. It currently encompasses 975 square miles. Originally, the county seat was at Cahaba, which also served as the state capital for a brief period. In 1865, the county seat was transferred to Selma. Other towns and communities include Marion Junction, Sardis, and Orrville.

Here is a picture of the Edmund Pettus Bridge.

This is for comments only, please.   If you have a question, email us.
Spammers are instantly banned.   A link of any type will trigger a spam violation.   All HTML is stripped out.
Sorry for this, but the spammers are relentless.


Notify me about new comments on this page.
Hide my email.

Are you a human?   Please answer this question:
What does 7 + 5 =

Back to Top